hurry up and wait

May 18, 2011

Hurry up and wait. That seems to be the phrase my Mom is using a lot these days. We just got a call from Vanderbilt this morning. Apparently, the tissue from my core biopsy wasn’t sufficient to make any kind of diagnosis. So, as scheduled on Wednesday morning, I have to have another biopsy, except this time they have to cut out a piece of my gland in my neck for testing. Then we should hear something 5 to 7 days later.

I probably won’t be nervous about the surgery until I get there. That’s usually how it goes. Right now I’m just frustrated that I have to wait another two weeks uninformed and untreated. I just want to find out and get this over with, get back to Boone, finish school, and get married. Those are my plans. But I had different plans a few weeks ago, so I am constantly reminded that my plans aren’t always His. I’m okay with that though, because His word says, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”-Romans 8:28 And not that He needed to, but He has proven this verse true so many times in my life already.

Receiving the news at first was heart wrenching, but I know this is just a season in my life. I know how extremely blessed I am to have the opportunity to even be able to get medical attention and have so many people praying and rooting for me to conquer this thing. Love you all.

IN A NUTSHELL

  • The core biopsy from last week was inconclusive
  • I have another biopsy (an incisional biopsy) on Wednesday morning
  • We will have to wait 5-7 days after the biopsy for a diagnosis
  • My family and I will pray for patience as we continue to wait two more weeks in the dark about what exactly is going on
  • I still have PET scans this Friday, as well as a bone marrow biopsy in which I am not looking forward to, but I know I will be just fine
5 Responses to “hurry up and wait”

  1. Sue Hasse said

    Cheslie,

    I wanted to let you know you have been in my thoughts and prayers. I can totally empathize with all you are going through. I know it is almost surreal that all this is taking place. But you are in the right place and you have so much support to give you the strength and peace that you need. If you ever want to talk please e-mail and I will give you my number. I’m a great listener and my shoulders are pretty strong for leaning on:)
    Love,
    Sue

  2. Jeane,Al,Bri & Abi Cagle said

    Cheslie… Our whole family is praying. Al got Amorey’s email yesterday & forwarded it to me this morning. Bri is home from school now so wE told she & Abi tonight They both had a ton of questions flying out of their mouths & were taken back with such inexpected news…. but as if having one mind, looked up & pieced together the following response “Ok… look… God… She is a christian has done missions aince ahe webt to Shut-up & Paint… God listens…. He knows… He’s gonna help her get through this. It’s gonna be ok…. With all of us praying, and getting everyone we know to pray…. God’s gonna get a migraine

  3. Susan King said

    Cheslie,
    What an amazing attitude you have! You’re so right in that this is just a season of your life, one that you will pass through. With such a faith you will continue to touch so many lives. Always know that I will continue in prayer for you.

  4. Robyn Steffen said

    Love this, “blessed I am to have the opportunity to even be able to get medical attention and have so many people praying and rooting for me”- so good chez! and what Jeane said abt God getting a migraine- so true, praying for you more than the number of times my flatmates play that awful new rhianna song- which is alot. And if you get scared and want an ego boost, just remember that time i got a flu shot.enough said. but your amazing,we love you, stay brave, and look for the beauty in waiting.

Leave a Reply

