operation pray.believe.conquer.

June 7, 2011

The battle begins at 1:30 tomorrow, June 8 (aka I’m starting my chemo). I’m a little nervous, but to be honest, it’s for a stupid reason. I HATE getting IV’s. I don’t usually make a scene over them or anything, but they are really starting to get to me. Needles never bothered me too much until recently I’ve been stuck so many times. You’d think I’d be getting used to it, but for some reason it is going in the opposite direction. You’d also think that I would be more worried about feeling terrible after, losing my hair, etc. but I most dread getting a needle in my vein so many times…wow, that sounds wimpy. So any suggestions of getting over that will be appreciated.

pray. Here’s the deal: after 2 months of chemo I will have another PET scan to see if all of my masses in my neck, chest, spleen, and liver are gone. Hodgkin lymphoma is very chemo-sensitive, so it is very realistic that all of it will be gone in two months. So if it is all gone, praise the Lord and I will finish out my chemo the next 4 months in remission. However, if there is even a tiny bit left after the two months, I will have to go on a more intense chemo with harsher short-term and long-term side effects… Your prayers have already been building me up and preparing me for this time in my life, so keep up the good work. I thank God everyday for your prayers and support.

believe. The Lord has always taken care of me, so why wouldn’t He this time? “Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall.” -Psalm 55:22 I am trusting Him throughout the healing process. I am believing that He will heal me in two months and that if I am not healed by then, that He will heal me in His time. I am going to experience the meaning of faith in its fullness like never before.

conquer. With the full armor of God, I will be victorious. I am conquering the obvious, but I am also conquering fears along the way. With all of you behind me and God’s power and strength, I will not be defeated.

9 Responses to “operation pray.believe.conquer.”

  1. nancy demaio said

    You are so brave, everyday God delivers you from your fears, these needles are one is just one fashion of fear. “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; He will never leave or forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31:6 I love you! Have a blessed day and be joyful for God is soooo good.

  2. Susan King said

    Am praying and will especially be praying for you tomorrow! God hears the prayers of our hearts and is faithful!

  3. Jess Ennis said

    Hey Cheslie! Don’t know if you remember me from Elevation: Boone, but know that we are all praying for you here!!

    Also, for the needle thing… is there any chance they can give you a port? That would mean less sticking and pricking. Hopefully that’s an option for you 🙂 My aunt used one when she was going through chemo and said it was a huge blessing.

    Let us know if we can do ANYTHING for you outside of praying 🙂

  4. Lora said

    Hi Chelsie,

    You don’t know me but I came across your blog today after someone FB’d it. I opened it up at exactly 1:28….just in time to read your story and pray for your 1:30 scheduled chemo. I’m a fellow Elevator….down here in Charlotte. Just wanted you to know my prayers are with you. My dad was diagnosed w/Lymphoma right around this time last year…he also had it in the bone marrow. He’s been cancer free since his chemo ended this past Christmas. I pray for God to heal you, just like he did my dad, and use you as a vessel to reach others far from God that you might otherwise not have. Wishing you all the best during and after your chemo treatments. God is Great, and God is Good

  5. Barton said

    Hey Girl, If it were me, I would think of the IV as a bag of millions of microscopic soldiers that are getting ready to assault the cancer cells on your behalf! Bring it on! Don’t forget your comfort cross, you can do it! I love you and will be praying for you tomorrow at 1:30…

  6. Anita D. said

    Cheslie – Hey sunshine. You are so strong and you can do this – one needle at a time. Before they put the IV just ask God to hold your hand along with your heart. He will be there. Just breathe and know that “The Lord is my Helper and I am not afraid of anything that mere man can do to me.” Hebrews 13:6.
    Praying constantly for you.

    Love you xo

  7. Patti Madere said

    May God’s unfailing love give you the strength and courage to face the days ahead with hope. You and your family are in our prayers.

  8. Amanda said

    I was putting on my make up this morning, one eye brow done and I stopped to say another prayer. You have so many people praying and supporting you. Take each day as it comes and you’ll get through this like a champ. I remember feeling EXACTLY the way you’re feeling. I’m confident there will be no masses in your next PET scan. You’ll be amazed when you wake up in a few weeks and the mass in your neck is gone…it’s little victories like that, that need to be celebrated. Best of luck. I’m here if you have questions. Oh, and seriously ask the docs about a port. You and your veins will thank you.

  9. nancy demaio said

    Cheslie, you did great yesterday! You are a strong woman and God sees that and is rewarding you for your faith. I am so proud of you for being positive thru this challenge. I have prayed with so many to stand and beleive for healing. God has already healed you in Jesus name. So WHEN
    He heals you in 2 months you will blow all the doctors sox off!! 1 Chronicles 16:8 Oh give thanks to the Lord! Love
    you.

Leave a Reply

