one week in

June 16, 2011

I survived my first week of chemo! My first infusion went well last week and the needle situation wasn’t too bad. The first 3-4 days after were rough with nausea, appetite and sore-mouth, but a much-needed surprise visit from Mark, my fiance from North Carolina whom I hadn’t seen in over a month really helped me feel better! I am on anti-nausea meds, and I’m feeling pretty normal now except for a little coughing and maybe some fatigue. I’m praying that I can continue to handle the side effects as well as I did this week as I continue to receive more treatments.

I have been so overwhelmingly blessed by all of you and by Vanderbilt. I received a letter in the mail informing me that I have been qualified for 100% financial assistance for Vanderbilt Medical Group services and that my remaining balance has been adjusted to zero! It feels like I just won the lottery! When I started testing and procedures for a diagnosis, I had dismissed the overwhelming “How am I going to pay for all of this?” question (because I am a 20-year old college student with my own dinky health insurance through my college and a current income of $0) and replaced it with “God’ll make a way”. And like always, He did. Already! I almost feel guilty for being blessed in such a huge way, like I should have prayed for it more or harder before I received it, but maybe someone else had been…

Praise Him from whom all blessings flow. Provider. Healer. Savior.

IN A NUTSHELL

  • My first chemo infusion went smoothly. One week later, I am feeling pretty good with very little side effects
  • My medical bills have been 100% covered under the Patient Assistance Program >>> PRAISE GOD!<<<
  • My second treatment is on June 22
One Response to “one week in”

  1. Sarah Kelly said

    Cheslie!
    Thanking the LORD for His provision.
    ” And do not seek what you are to eat and what you are to drink, nor be worried. For all the nations of the world seek after these things, and your Father knows that you need them. Instead, seek his kingdom, and these things will be added to you.” Luke 12: 29-31
    I love you & continue to pray…

Leave a Reply

