summer breeze

July 6, 2011

The second round of chemo has been a breeze. I can’t believe my neutrophils (white blood cells) went down 80% and I feel great! After 3 days of some mild nausea, I have felt back to normal and been going nonstop: driving to North Carolina to help my fiance move into his new apartment, and then all of my stuff out of my apartment in Boone with the help of my Boone family (aka bible study leader and Elevation boys) and back to Tennessee this past week. I’ve had tons of energy, no sore mouth, and been eating like a champ. What cancer?! I have officially completed my first cycle of chemo; that is, 1 cycle = 2 treatments. So I have 1 cycle (2 treatments) left until I have another scan to see if the beast is gone and 5 more cycles (10 treatments) total to go.

My hair dresser sister, Britta, gave me a new short haircut. I was a little apprehensive because I’ve been kind of attached to my long hair for the past 6 years, but I was excited for a change, too. Nonetheless, she did a great job, and I am happy with it. Mark wanted to go shorter too to support me so he let me buzz his hair! Unfortunately, cutting my hair shorter doesn’t keep it from falling out. I’ve definitely lost a substantial amount this week. I like having hair just as much as the next girl, but it’s not the end of the world for me to lose it. I’m just happy that the chemo is shrinking my lumps!

I am leaving in just a few minutes to get my third treatment today. I am a little nervous about the vein situation because they have to use a different one this time to give my good one a break.

Thanks be to God for my treatments going so much better than I imagined up to this point. Thanks for all the prayers lifted up to impact my healing process.

IN A NUTSHELL

  • Feeling GREAT! I had no side effects (other than hair loss) the past week and moved all of my stuff home from Boone
  • My third treatment is today
  • After today, I will have one more treatment before I get another scan to see if my cancer is gone
  • Praise God for blessing me beyond measure!
3 Responses to “summer breeze”

  1. Jess Ennis said

    Cheslie, I’m so glad that things are going well! Your positivism amazes me. Know we are praying for you in Boone– and can’t wait for you to return!! God is good!

    Jess

  2. Susan King said

    So glad you are doing well with the treatments. That is an answer to prayer. Ever praying for you!!!

  3. Caroline Reynolds said

    You said it Cheslie…Thanks be to God! Praying without ceasing! You are amazing!

Leave a Reply

