when the small stuff matters

December 21, 2011

So I’ve been off chemo for a month and half now. I’m feeling back to normal, my immune system is all good, and I have been making up for some lost time with friends. I pretty much have all my ducks in a row to go back to college, so basically the plan is to move back to Boone and go back to school January 17th to start my senior year! Life is good!

But then there is that little saying that rings true: “Life is what happens to you while you are making other plans.”

I went to the doctor today to have a basic post-chemo check up: PET scan, CT scan, bloodwork, oncologist visit. After running around to different parts of the hospital to get all of my tests done, I met with my oncologist, Dr. Morgan, where I received some unexpected news. Apparently, there is a small “spot” on the PET scan in my chest that was not on the previous PET scan. Dr. Morgan said that he does not know exactly what it is, and that he thought it was definitely worth investigating. After discussing our options to find out what it is, he decided that it would be best to do a bronchoscopy biopsy, which is simply putting a camera down my throat while I am under sedation and sampling the tissue to find out what exactly it is. It could just be infection or inflammation, which is what we are hoping for. Unfortunately, it could also be the dreaded “c-word” and require more chemo, or even radiation…

I have to admit that it is a little scary to think about, but I feel like I received the news really well. I guess I just know that God is going to take care of me no matter what because I have seen him do it all my life and especially in the past few months. Worrying won’t change the outcome or give you control over your situation, so what’s the point? I know that God knows what He is doing, and that’s good enough for me.

I won’t know the results from the biopsy tomorrow until probably about a week afterwards. As always, I appreciate your prayers for a smooth procedure tomorrow and great results from the biopsy.

Merry Christmas!

IN A NUTSHELL

  • Being off chemo is awesome! I feel great and have enjoyed getting to be “normal” again
  • My check-up scan today revealed that there is something in my chest on the PET scan that wasn’t there before
  • I have to have a bronchoscopy tomorrow at 10 AM in hopes to find out what it is
  • Please pray for a safe procedure and good results
4 Responses to “when the small stuff matters”

  1. LeAnn said

    I am praying! I expect you to be sitting here in my living room with me come January 16!

  2. Tim Wilson said

    Cheslie, I still cannot believe that I was a part of Gods wonderful plan bringing you into this world to be a part of and get to share my life with such a wonderful human being. You fill my heart with more joy the more I get to know you as an adult. Instead of teaching you now I learn from you. You have the faith to move mountains and a stronger belief than most. I still can’t believe that you are my baby girl. I will always love you. What’s not to love about you. You are the greatest in my book. Yes, you are the one that hung the moon in my world. You are my Christmas presant!

    Love,

    Dad

  3. Tom & Hazel said

    always praying love you

Leave a Reply

