the small chance

February 17, 2012

Today was another great day, well, until a couple of hours ago. My check-up started early this morning by having to get an IV for my scan, which took two tries, but I was brave, calm, and it wasn’t painful. Nervousness didn’t get to me the whole morning— through the IV, the scan, or the blood work–so I was feeling pretty good when it came time to hear what the doc had to say:

Dr. Morgan told us that the “spot” in my upper chest that they had discovered on my last scan was still there and that there was a significant enough change in its size that they want to explore it further. The original bronchoscopy biopsy of the spot had come back negative for lymphoma a couple months ago, but now they want to do another type biopsy so that they can retrieve more tissue to have a better chance of finding out exactly what it is. There is always the possibility that it is Hodgkin Lymphoma, but there is also a chance (which is what we are hoping for) that it could be an infection I picked up during chemo when my immune system was down.

My treatment for Hodgkin Lymphoma went exactly as the doctors had planned: after two months of chemo I was in remission and then finished out the the rest of the six months without any problems. Thus, my chances of it NEVER coming back should be in the high 90%s. So at this point the doctors aren’t really sure what to think. All they know is they don’t like it and want to get to the bottom of it.

Though it wasn’t something I was planning on hearing today, I wasn’t floored when I received the news. I think after hearing things like that a few times before, it doesn’t surprise me anymore. As for how I’m feeling, well it certainly does put a damper on things now doesn’t it? But believing God for who He says He is, I know that He has a plan to work everything out for my good.

I have a doctor’s appointment on Monday with a thoracic surgeon to figure out my next step in getting another biopsy. Please pray that my family and I will continue to find peace in knowing that  everything is in the Lord’s hands.

IN A NUTSHELL

  • The small spot on my last scan has grown to about the diameter of a penny
  • The doctors are unsure of what it is. Their best guesses are lymphoma or an infection
  • I have to meet with a doctor on Monday morning to schedule the biopsy for hopefully sometime next week
  • Of course, I would appreciate any prayers you want to send His way 🙂
9 Responses to “the small chance”

  1. LeAnn said

    Cheslie, We prayed for you last night and again this morning. I’m sorry to hear your news, but I know God is using you and your faith in a powerful way and he is wanting another opportunity to show his glory though your life.

  2. tiff wilson in LA said

    Praying for you sweetie !

  3. Catherine Spann said

    Cheslie,
    You are in my prayers. You are right, God does have a plan and he cares about you so much. This too will work out for the good. I am praying for COMPLETE healing in Jesus name!

  4. asucru said

    Hey Cheslie,

    Haven’t had a ton of time to connect with you since you came back to Boone but I didn’t want you to think that reflects lack of prayers for you or concern for you. We have been praying for you and will continue to do so. Thanks for being willing to share so honestly and tenderly. Please keep us posted.

    • asucru said

      I thought for some reason my name would miraculously appear with that last comment but it didn’t. This is Mark Valentine and we are praying for you.

  5. Leslie Allen said

    Honey, you will be in my prayers. You are amazing and such a beautiful, mature young woman. Thank you for your inspiration and sharing your journey.

  6. Robyn Steffen said

    It is in these moments of great uncertainty that truly show your faith and strength in Him. Ches, you continue to glorify God in everything you do in every step of the way, and you will be blessed. Continuous prayers for you, I love you.

  7. wiesehan said

    Everyone is Edinburg is thinking positive thoughts and sends their prayers.

Leave a Reply

