chops for cheslie

April 27, 2012

Chops for Cheslie was a success! Most of the ladies from my eGroup had enough hair to be able to donate!

I don’t think today has even really sunk in yet. I’m still in awe of everything that went on. Ok, so a bunch of amazing girls who really care about me with long beautiful hair and two very talented hairdressers (that drove up 2 hours from Charlotte) gave up a whole day and created an event to cut their hair off short and raise financial support to bless me. As I was watching it all take place, I felt excited to be a part of the event, not fully wrapping my head around the fact that I was the “good cause” it was for. It’s still hard for me to believe someone would do all of that for me. But that really did happen today. I have lots of pictures to prove it.

To girls especially, cutting your hair short is a big deal. These girls were not only sacrificing the inches of hair that took months and years to grow and the time they took out of their busy schedules to be there, but also sacrificing their emotion, their willingness to feel anxious and uneasy about doing something. Even if they were afraid it would make them feel less beautiful. (Which of course it didn’t, every single one of them looked stunning with short hair!) I know they all loved their long hair, but they wanted to show me that they loved me more. They thought I was worth going through all of that. Wow.

I feel so unworthy, so undeserving of all these good people and good things that keep happening to me. Sometimes I’m not really even sure how to handle them or accept them. Of course I’m thankful, but how can I let them know just how much this means to me? And though I’m not worthy, I know I shouldn’t feel that way because He is. And I also know creating and being a part of something like Chops for Cheslie is an opportunity for God to bring joy to those who serve and sacrifice, and to me.

My heart is filled-up with appreciation and joy from all of the blessing and love that is overflowing from the lives of these people supporting me. I’m not calling cancer itself a blessing, but it certainly has opened a lot of doors for blessing in my life and others lives that would have not otherwise existed to be able to be experienced.

Today is going to make for an incredible memory. I’m so thankful for all of the people who made me feel so special and loved today.

One Response to “chops for cheslie”

  1. Susan King said

    “All things work for the good of those who love the Lord.” Everything, even negative things, can contain God’s blessings–just as you are experiencing. And beautiful Cheslie, YOU are a blessing to me and to so many, many more as you travel this journey!

Leave a Reply

