put some ICE on it

May 24, 2012

I started my new chemo, ICE (Ifosfamide, Carboplatin, Etoposide) today. It takes three days to complete my first round.

Day One: Today I was at the hospital from around 8:30am to 5:00pm. Yeah, long day. I got a picc line in my arm that will stay in for the three days. Besides having tubes coming out of my arm, the only annoying part is that I have to put one of those long, plastic gloves farmers use to deliver baby cows on my arm every time I take a shower.

After getting the picc line, blood work, and seeing the doc, I started the chemo sometime around 1pm with some pre-meds to prevent nausea and allergic reactions. Then I had to have 3 bags of the different ICE fluid medicines through my IV while taking some pills and a little bag of medicine that prevents blood clots in the bladder (which the ICE can cause). I know, it sounds complicated.  I don’t always know exactly what’s going on at all times, I just let the nurses do their thing.

I’m tired and a little dizzy when I walk around, but I will take that over being nauseous any day. Praise the Lord: I feel a lot better after having all of that chemo than I thought I would. Then again, it is only the first day.

Day Two: The day started out with me feeling really good. I was only at the hospital from 1pm to 5pm today because I didn’t have to see the doctor or anything. I just had to go straight to the infusion center to get the chemo. I started to get nauseous a little bit during all of it, and of course I am exhausted after.

Day Three: I definitely didn’t feel as good today as I did yesterday morning. Nonetheless, I was glad to get my last day of chemo over with. I was at the hospital from 1pm to 7pm…I had to wait longer than usual. For some reason, during chemo my neck and body started to feel really sore.

*****

Honestly, I’m feeling better than I anticipated after 3 days of chemo. I don’t feel amazing, but I’ve felt a lot worse after chemo before than this. (knock on wood)

I feel a little weak and nauseous today, but I’m glad that my body aches are gone. My immune system is expected to be fragile now so I have to get this shot tonight that is supposed to boost my white blood cells.

Let the conquering begin.

19 So then, those who suffer according to God’s will should commit themselves to their faithful Creator and continue to do good. -1 Peter 4:19

IN A NUTSHELL

  • Finished my first round of the new 3-day chemo (ICE).
  • Not feeling the greatest, but not the worst either. I’m thankful to feel a lot better after 3 days of chemo than I thought I would.
  • Three weeks from now I will get the same chemo again.
Leave a Reply

