out with the old, in with the new

August 5, 2012

Am I surprised that I didn’t start the stem cell transplant two weeks ago as planned? Maybe I would be if it were the first time things didn’t happen like we thought they would. For those of you who don’t know, I unexpectedly got a fever and infection two weeks ago and had to stay in the hospital for a few days, thus delaying my stem cell transplant until this weekend.

I have been hesitant to write on my blog the past couple of weeks and decided to wait a bit longer to avoid posting another potentially inaccurate update; although, the SCT schedule from the last entry is still accurate since I didn’t provide exact dates. There was talk last week among the group of doctors that are working on my case of the possibility of getting radiation before or after the stem cell transplant. The doctors had a meeting to discuss whether or not I should have radiation and they decided it was best to just go on with the SCT for now and leave the decision to do radiation after the SCT for further discussion in the future. Due to the risks associated particularly with being a young female getting radiation to the chest, I’m not really comfortable with the idea of having it and hope that it won’t be necessary.

As I’ve mentioned before, I will be going to the hospital pretty much everyday for the next month and half, so I had to move into an apartment designated for Vanderbilt patients in downtown Nashville that is close to the hospital. I moved into my new place a couple of days ago. I was fortunate to get a two bedroom so that my Mom (caretaker) can have her own room too. It’s pretty spacious, and it’s nice to have a change of scenery. I have gotten to enjoy the past few days of feeling good, hanging out with friends, and having my own place in the city.

As weird as it is to have a doctor’s appointment on a Sunday, I had my first of the shots that grow my stem cells this morning which I will be continuing daily throughout this week. Getting a needle in the stomach sounds terrible, but I have to admit that it’s not as awful as it sounds. The side effects haven’t kicked in yet, but I can expect bone pain and flu-like aches this week, which actually means the shots are working like they are supposed to.

Tomorrow morning after my shot, I am getting surgery to put a catheter in my chest that acts similar to an I.V. that will stay there until I am finished with the SCT. This will give the nurses quicker and easier access to drawing blood, giving me medicines, etc. (And I won’t have to get stuck every time anymore!)

It’s nice be in a new place to start working on a new health. As much as I’ve been dreading the SCT since I found out more about it, it’s lifted my spirits a little bit to be able to move in and move forward.

And he who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.”
-Revelation 21:5

For those of you who were asking or wondering, here are the restrictions during my stem cell transplant:

    • No raw fruits or vegetables
    • No leftovers (You are allowed to bring me meals that can be frozen and cooked, we just aren’t supposed to reheat it over and over again.)
    • No live flowers/plants
    • I can have (100% healthy) visitors at certain times with limited direct contact

IN A NUTSHELL

  • I moved into a my new apartment in Nashville a few days ago to be closer to the hospital
  • I started the SCT transplant process today by getting a shot that helps harvest the stem cells for collection
  • Tomorrow morning I am having a line/catheter surgically placed in my chest
  • Over the next several days I will continue to receive shots daily to build up my stem cells for collection at the end of the week
8 Responses to “out with the old, in with the new”

  1. Mary Combs said

    We prayed for you at church today. Love your spirit and inspiration. As Janet Shew sang today, “I have felt the hand of God through you.”

    Love, Mary

  2. The Glusenkamp family is praying for you! Keep that positive attitude. You are an example to us all!

  3. Sue hasse said

    So glad for update. Praying for you daily. Stay strong, rest up…
    Sue

  4. Susan King said

    I pray each day for you as you go through this, and for a wonderfully successful outcome!!!

  5. Gary, Lindsey, and I are keeping you, your family, doctors, and all your health care team in our prayers as you continue on your journey to good health! Know we are here if you need anything at all!

  6. Marie Foresman said

    God Bless you Cheslie. All our LUV and PRAYERS to you from the Foresman fam. Wld love to see you sometime. Pls let us know if we can do ANYTHING AT ALL for you. Hugs, Marie

  7. Judee Flint said

    Hi Cheslie. Don’t know if you remember me–you were pretty young when I was at Kingston Springs–butI want you to know that I am praying for healing and health for you. A number of folks from my church are praying as well. Blessings, Judee.

  8. Hazel said

    you and your family are in our prayers always. Not a day goes by that you aren’t thought of. Love you.
    Hazel and the crew

Leave a Reply

