cancer-freedom

December 2, 2012

Last week I had my final dose of radiation! It went by so fast and so smoothly! My only side affect was mild fatigue and a little redness at the radiation site, which was to-be expected. I am excited to be done with my treatment plan, so I can start living life again. I am hesitant to say that I’m done with cancer for good, because I said it once before, around this time last year…

I don’t know the magic number or the “chances” of my cancer relapsing nor do I want to. I made the mistake of taking comfort in the 95% cure rate last time, so the statistics don’t mean much to me anymore. If God’s plan is for you to be the 5%, believe me, you will be. I’m just going to try to keep trusting God with His healing process and believing that my cancer is never coming back. And hopefully, when I reach the 5-year mark, my scans will be clear and they will say the 3 words I long to hear: “You are cured.”

In the first year of cancer, when getting scans frequently, it was easy for me to be optimistic and not stress out about them. But now I feel like there is more pressure with each one, I guess because the treatment options are becoming harder and fewer. I have been in remission since June and had another clear PET scan in September. My next PET scan is on January 9, so please pray that I can have peace about it and that I keep getting great results!

In the meantime, I’m getting back on the horse, though I’ll try not to take off too fast. Since my radiation is over and I’m not tied down to TN anymore, I’m going to visit my family in Texas next week. I’ll also be starting my last semester at Appalachian on January 14 and I’m SO excited! And I started wedding planning again, too and set a new date for next summer!

I have enjoyed reflecting on my blessings and celebrating thankfulness this past month. I don’t want to take anything for granted, because I have been beyond blessed with what God has done in my life and provided me with. I would like to point out that I am especially blessed to have such great parents that have done an amazing job of taking care of me and making sure I have had everything I needed my whole life and throughout cancer. And a big thanks to all you that are reading this right now for continuing to keep up with my progress and supporting me through this long journey to health.

IN A NUTSHELL

  • I’m DONE with radiation! I tolerated it very well. Praise God! 
  • Welp, I finished all my treatment so there’s nothing left to do but keep on living and praying. I am moving back to Boone in January to finish school and can’t wait!
  • On January 9, I have a PET scan. Please pray that it’s another clear one, so that I can continue to be cancer-free!!
3 Responses to “cancer-freedom”

  1. The Hagedorns said

    Praise God! You are so strong and such an amazing young lady! God bless you and your family this holiday season. Will be praying for good scans in Jan. Can’t wait to hear all about your last semester of college. Thank you for sharing your life. God bless.

  2. Thank God for his Blessings in your life. He has done amazing things ithrough you. I hope you don’t mind, I put your picture “Heal cancer” as my facebook timeline. I’m praying for another miracle! But if it is God’s will to take her home, I will have to except his decision. I might not like it & I know that is selfish of me. Please help me pray for Barbara Flenniken. She was diagnosed with stage 4 breast cancer the end of July. Let me tell you why she is so important to me. Barbara’s wallk with the Lord made me want what she had. She is one of the most Godly woman I know. She has lead me to Christ. She has been there for me, when my faith was smaller than a mustard seed, to guide me to where I am today.

  3. Sharon said

    I continue to be blessed and inspired from reading your posts about your journey! My prayers are with you! Have a great holiday season with your family & friends! Good luck with your last semester at ASU & with wedding plans! So excited for you! Enjoy every minute of it! With love & prayers, Sharon

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

