spring forward

March 15, 2013

Woohoo! It’s a good spring break when you get good weather, and an even better one when you get good news! Thankful that I can say today that I’m still in remission and still on track to graduate, get married and get on with my life! Thank you Jesus.

I’m blessed. It’s been so nice to be back in college! Although I’ve had a heavy course load this semester that has kept me busy and been a little hectic, I’ll take an exam and write a paper any day over a dose of chemotherapy. And I’m so happy to have hair again! In fact, it was getting so long and shaggy so fast that I already got my first hair cut.

I’m so excited to finally graduate and get married! For real this time. And equally excited to go on my much-needed honeymoon so I can relax on a warm, tropical beach and finally put cancer behind me.

I honestly don’t think about the bad times during cancer much unless I’m asked about it. Though I sometimes wish I didn’t have those terrible memories buried in my mind somewhere and often wish that I could forget that I had cancer altogether, I constantly try to remind myself daily to remember what God has done for me. Every time I get discouraged about something or down when I think that cancer took away two years of my life, I say to myself “You’ve been through chemo four times” or “You’ve beat cancer twice.”  Instead of remembering what cancer took  from me, I try to remember instead what God gave me.

Thanks again for keeping up with me and supporting me. When I think about the joy I experienced during the hardest days of my life, I think of all the people who were rooting for me and covering me in prayer that made me feel so loved. Since I have doctors’ appointments a lot less frequently, I will probably only write on my blog every couple of months. I am getting my immunizations in June, and my documentary that my friend Jared is working on is supposed to be finished in April! So I will let you know how you can watch it when it comes out.

Thanks again for praying for me, believing with me and helping me conquer.

“Praise the Lord, my soul,
and forget not all his benefits—
 who forgives all your sins
and heals all your diseases”

***I just want to remind people once more that I didn’t get through this because of who I am or how I handled it. Having support lifted my spirits and having optimism helped me stay positive, but having God in my life gave me strength and carried me through cancer.

IN A NUTSHELL

  • Still in the clear! Praise God!
  • I’m graduating in May and getting married in July!
  • I’m getting my immunizations back in June! (since I lost them from the stem cell transplant)
  • My documentary should be finished in April
7 Responses to “spring forward”

  1. Yvonne said

    That is great news !!! Still praying for you, can’t wait to see graduation and wedding prictures. Your mom’s friend, Yvonne

  2. Connie P. (friend of your mother from Alvin, TX) said

    That ‘s wonderful news! We serve an Awesome God!!!! Ready to see pictures from grad & wedding. Keep strong child of God!

  3. Linda G said

    Yeah God! Was so excited to see pics of you two couples from the other night…you all look great…continuing to lift you up in prayer for graduation and the wedding!

  4. Susan King said

    So happy for you and thankful for answered prayer!!!

  5. Mary Combs said

    Thank you SO much for your update, for your uplifting spirit and for sharing your inspiration with us all!!

    Love, Ms. Mary

  6. Sue said

    So happy for you! Praise the Lord for such great news!!

  7. Just got reading through a few of your posts and just wanted to say that my prayers are with you. I had a quick question and was hoping you could email me back when you get the chance. Thanks! – emilywalsh688(at)gmail.com.

    Emmy

Leave a Reply

